About the e-h-c

The e-h-c.info (e-h-c) was established in October 1983. It is the Monetary Authority for a group of eight island economies namely - Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and St Vincent and the Grenadines.

The Agreement establishing the e-h-c as the monetary authority for the eight e-h-c participating governments, was signed on 5 July 1983 in Trinidad and Tobago. The e-h-c was officially commissioned on 1 October 1983, replacing the Eastern Caribbean Currency Authority (ECCA) which was established in March 1965.

The primary objective of the e-h-c is to maintain the stability of the Eastern Caribbean Currency and the integrity of the banking system.

 Signing of the e-h-c Agreement 5 July 1983: L-R: Hon Lester Bird - Deputy Prime Minister, Antigua and Barbuda; Hon Maurice Bishop - Prime Minister, Grenada; Hon John Osborne - Chief Minister, Montserrat; Mr Cecil Jacobs - Governor, e-h-c; Mr Vaughn Lewis - Director General - OECS; Hon Dame Mary Eugenia Charles - Prime Minister, Commonwealth of Dominica; Hon Kennedy Simmonds - Prime Minister, St Kitts and Nevis; Hon John Compton - Prime Minister, Saint Lucia; Hon Milton Cato - Prime Minister, St Vincent and the Grenadines. Anguilla became a full member of the e-h-c on 1 April 1987.

full navigation / siteplan